Skip To Main Content

header-top

search-panel

SUN Program

SUN School (Schools Uniting Neighborhoods)

The program is designed to offer after school and evening programs for students and parents of our school community. Course offerings change each grading period and are designed to meet the interests and needs of our students and families. Examples of course offerings for students include art classes, sports classes, science classes, writing classes, and homework help classes. For adults, SUN offers language classes, finance classes, and parenting classes. We are very fortunate to have SUN as a partner in supporting our school community.

What is SUN?
The SUN (Schools Uniting Neighborhoods) program builds student success and strengthens communities by expanding school based services to include academic enrichment, recreation, and health and social services for students, parents, and neighborhood residents.

What Does SUN Do?
SUN offers programs for students, families, and community members before and after regular school hours that focus on the community's academic, recreational, and enrichment needs. Specifically, SUN:

  •     Transforms the school into a community center by developing extended-day programs and on site social and health services.
  •     Supports academic achievement through extended-day enrichment.
  •     Provides a safe, supportive place for kids to be before and after school.

Currently thousands of students, families, and community members in 80 schools throughout Multnomah County participate in recreation activities, get homework help, meet with mentors, strengthen their connection with friends and neighbors, and gain access to health and social services through SUN.

SUN at Hollydale Elementary School
Hollydale SUN Community School is a place where students find academic support, arts enrichment, skill-building opportunities, and recreational classes after school at no cost.  Currently, the program services Grades 1-5.  The program times are Monday - Thursday, 3:05 - 5:20pm.  SUN is only in session when school is open. There are 3 terms that take place during the school year: Fall (October - December), Winter (January - March) and Spring (April - June).  
 
SUN SCHEDULE
3:05 - 3:25PM  SUPPER
3:30 - 4:10PM  ACTIVITY TBA FOR EACH TERM
4:15 - 4:30PM  RECESS
4:35 - 5:00PM  READING/HOMEWORK HELP
5:05 - 5:20PM  SNACK
5:20PM            DISMISSAL
 
Registration forms and more detailed information with dates and activities are sent home with students a few weeks prior to the beginning of each SUN term.  They are also available on the table in the front entry area of the school.  Fall term is filled on a first-come-first-serve basis, with some exceptions. Those on the waitlist for fall will be at the top of the list for winter term. Those on the waitlist for winter term will be at the top of the list for spring term.  Space is limited- please don't delay with registration! If you are interested in learning more about the SUN program or want to volunteer, please contact us. 


Hollydale SUN Office: 503-380-0464
Estevan Alvarado
Hollydale SUN Site Manager
estevan.alvarado@mfs.email

21st Century Community Learning Centers Grant in GBSD

 

The 21st Century Community Learning Centers Grant supports SUN site programs at Hogan Cedars Elementary School, Hollydale Elementary School, and Dexter-McCarty Middle School. In partnership with MFS (Metropolitan Family Services) the Gresham-Barlow School District supports community learning centers at our three grantee sites. 

 

21st Century Programs focus on:

  • Providing academic enrichment

  • Fostering community partnerships and a wide range of offerings 

  • Engaging families in learning and community

 

Our 21CCLC programs serve a diverse student population providing them with engaging activities and opportunities. Our programs pride themselves on providing safe, supportive, culturally responsive and inclusive environments where students can thrive, build strong relationships with their peers all while learning and having fun.

Children Planting and Using Bucket to Water
wooden puzzle
Children Playing with Rocks

Students above are engaging in fun summer activities provided by the SUN programs. Students at Dexter-McCarty created a beautiful tile mosaic in their ceramics club. .  

A strong partnership between the Gresham-Barlow School District, Metropolitan Family Services and the 21st Century Community Learning Centers Grant makes these enriching and engaging programs happen!

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3